First day of school

3

September 6, 2012 by scasadei

I introduced the flipped classroom model to the 7th graders today and modeled how to create an Edmodo account. They seemed to be all for it, especially when I mentioned the lack of “workbook page” homework.
I asked them to create their account by Monday morning. As of 8pm tonight over 50% of my class had set up their accounts :). I even received a few nice messages thanking me for setting up the “cool website”. One student said, “This is sooooo awesome! I love it!”.
This is my first time flipping with Edmodo and I’m happy to hear that the kids are really into it.
This week I am going to give the students a few fun videos to watch and comment on so that they get a feel for the site and how it works. On Monday we will dive into new content and I will assign our first content-related video.
Our Back to School Night is on Monday, and I’m wondering what kind of feedback I’m going to get from the parents considering I’m the first person to do this at our school.
I’ll report back on how that goes 🙂

3 thoughts on “First day of school

  1. pact2010 says:

    Awesome! Looks great 😉

  2. Jill, your jealous friend who wishes her son had you this year says:

    That’s a great sign that so many have signed up already. How exciting!! It’s also great that u will have activity for parents to see on B2S night. I’m sure the parents will appreciate the kids excitement for learning and be supportive!

  3. Stephanie Antar says:

    How exciting! Looking forward to learning more from you!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,469 hits
Knight-Time Technology

Elementary Education Technology with East Noble School Corp

Mathematics

Just another Lance and Zack site

The Global Classroom Project

Supporting Global Collaboration since 2011

pact10discoveries

A topnotch WordPress.com site

msgalltech

Just another WordPress.com site

pact10flip

I'm flipping my 7th grade math class and sharing my resources and experiences.

